Skip to main content
New: Get an independent second opinion on your scan Try SecondRead
Buyer's Guide

Best X-ray machines in India (2026): a buyer's guide

India's X-ray market runs from 3.5 kW Indian-made mobiles to 82 kW imported rooms, and most of what ranks for "best X-ray machine" is dealer listings. This is a neutral guide instead: how hospitals actually choose, a comparison table with every specification taken from the maker's own page, one profile per machine, and where the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console, fits.

Quick Answer (September 2026)

Hospitals in India choose an X-ray machine by category first — a mobile DR unit that goes to the bedside, a fixed DR room for outpatient volume, or a portable unit for home visits and camps — and then compare generator power, detector type, the maker's service network in India, AERB and BIS approval, and whether AI is built in. The systems most often shortlisted in 2026 include the Siemens Healthineers MOBILETT Elara Max, GE HealthCare AMX 240, Carestream DRX-Revolution, Philips MobileDiagnost wDR 2.1, Skanray Skanmobile DR and Trivitron Ultisys Mobile among mobile units; the Siemens MULTIX Impact E and Fujifilm FDR Smart X among fixed rooms; and the Fujifilm FDR Xair among portables. The BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside — 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console — is the only Indian-made mobile DR system in this guide with a clinical AI engine in the console, returning preliminary findings in under 60 seconds; 5C Network describes BIONIC as India's first OEM-embedded radiology AI. GE's AMX 240 offers on-device Critical Care Suite algorithms for pneumothorax and ET-tube position, according to GE HealthCare.

By 5C Network Updated 22 September 2026 12 min read

"Best" is the wrong first question. An X-ray machine that is right for a 400-bed teaching hospital's casualty block is wrong for a 40-bed nursing home with single-phase power, and neither is what a home-care operator needs. The useful first question is category: does the machine need to go to the patient (mobile DR), does the patient come to the machine (fixed DR room), or does it need to fit in a car boot (portable)? Everything else — generator power, detector, service, approvals, AI — follows from that.

This guide does three things. It sets out the six criteria that actually decide a purchase; it compares ten systems sold in India across all three categories, with every rival specification taken from the manufacturer's own product page and marked "not published" where the vendor does not state it; and it is transparent that 5C Network publishes this page and co-brands one of the machines in it, the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console. The descriptions of other machines are written to be accurate, not to make anyone look bad.

How to choose: the six criteria

Use these as a checklist when you shortlist. They are in the order hospitals usually decide them.

  • Category first. A mobile DR unit is a generator, tube and wireless detector on a powered cart that goes to the ICU, ward, OT and casualty. A fixed DR room is a floor- or ceiling-mounted tube with a table and wall stand in a lead-shielded room, built for outpatient throughput. A portable unit is a handheld or briefcase-sized source for home visits and camps. Decide this before you look at a single spec sheet.
  • Generator power. Higher kilowatts allow shorter exposures on thicker body parts, which matters for larger patients, lateral spines and abdomens. Bedside chest and extremity work is routinely done on 4-to-5 kW units; the mobiles in this guide run from 3.5 kW to 40 kW, and the fixed rooms from 40 kW to 82 kW. Check the mA at a stated kV, not just the headline kW, and check what mains supply the generator needs.
  • Detector. Almost every current system uses a wireless flat panel with a caesium-iodide (CsI) scintillator. Compare size (35 × 43 cm / 14 × 17 in is standard; 17 × 17 in exists), pixel pitch (100 to 148 µm across this guide), weight, battery life, how it charges, and whether a glass-free or drop-tolerant version is offered, since detector damage is the most expensive failure a department has.
  • Service network in India. Ask where the nearest field engineer sits, what the spares lead time is, what the uptime commitment in the AMC is, and what detector replacement costs. Indian manufacturing (BPL, Skanray, Trivitron, Allengers, and Siemens' Bengaluru-built MULTIX Impact E) shortens the chain; imported units depend on the distributor.
  • AERB and BIS approval. Every diagnostic X-ray unit installed in India needs AERB type approval for the model and an AERB licence for the site; BIS certification is the Indian product-standards mark. Vendor pages are inconsistent about listing these, so ask for the certificates in writing. The FAQ explains what each covers.
  • Whether AI is built in. Three different things get called "AI" on X-ray consoles: image-processing AI that reduces noise or improves contrast; quality AI that checks positioning and protocol; and clinical AI that reads the image for findings, triages abnormal studies, checks lines and tubes, or drafts the report. Only the last changes what the clinician gets at the bedside, and in every case a licensed radiologist still signs the report.

Comparison table: X-ray machines sold in India (2026)

Every specification below is taken from the manufacturer's own product page for India (or its global page where no India page exists), each checked live on 22 September 2026 and linked in the profile that follows. "Not published" means that page does not state the item; we have not filled gaps from dealer listings. Scroll sideways on a phone.

Machine Maker Type Generator Detector Approvals (as published) AI in console Best for
BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside — 5C Network's AI engine built into the console BPL Medical Technologies (hardware); 5C Network (AI engine) Mobile DR 5 kW, 110 kHz, 1.8 mm focal spot EVS 3643WP wireless CsI flat panel, 14 × 17 in (358 × 430 mm), image in under 2 s AERB, BIS; BPL is ISO 13485:2016 and ISO 9001:2015 certified; made in India Yes — BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console (sold by BPL as Cortex Rads-AI): preliminary findings in under 60 s, triage, lines-and-tubes check, structured draft report ICU, ward and emergency bedside chest X-rays where a preliminary AI read at the bedside matters
Siemens Healthineers MOBILETT Elara Max Siemens Healthineers Mobile DR Max. 35 kW, max. 450 mA MAX wi-D wireless CsI, 35 × 43 cm, 3.3 kg; MAX mini 24 × 30 cm option Not published on the vendor page Not stated on the vendor page High-volume hospitals that want generator headroom and long battery shifts (about 6 h / 200 exposures on the standard 65 Ah battery)
GE HealthCare AMX 240 (Optima XR240amx) powered by Helix GE HealthCare Mobile DR Not published on GE's India page FlashPad HD wireless, 100 µm pixel, two sizes incl. 14 × 17 in, in-bin charging Not published on the vendor page; part of Critical Care Suite footnoted "510(k) pending" Yes — GE Critical Care Suite: on-device pneumothorax detection and ET-tube position measurement (per GE HealthCare) Hospitals standardised on GE that want on-device critical-finding alerts for pneumothorax and ET-tube position
Carestream DRX-Revolution Carestream Health Mobile DR 32 kW, dual focal spot tube Carestream DRX detector family — wireless, shareable, fixed and glass-free options (model not specified on page) Not published on the vendor page Image-quality AI only — optional Smart Noise Cancellation (pending approval in some countries); tube-and-line and pneumothorax visualisation aids; no findings or report engine stated Cramped ICUs and corridors where the automatic collapsible column and line-of-sight positioning matter
Philips MobileDiagnost wDR 2.1 Philips Mobile DR 20 kW (M90 Performance, 10–320 mA) or 40 kW (M90 High Performance, 10–500 mA) SkyPlate wireless CsI, 35 × 43 cm, 148 µm pixel, 6.7 MP, 2.8 kg with battery Not published on the vendor page Not stated on the vendor page Hospitals that want DR-room image quality on a motorised mobile, with a choice of 20 or 40 kW
Skanray Skanmobile DR Skanray Technologies (Mysuru, India) Mobile DR 4 kW, 200 kHz, 100 mA, 250 mAs, 1.8 mm focal spot Wireless 14 × 17 in flat panel, 139 µm CsI scintillator, wireless detector charging Not published on the vendor page; made in Mysuru, India Not stated on the vendor page Compact Indian-made mobile DR (about 100 kg) for NICU, ICU, trauma and ortho, with an 11-hour twin-battery backup
Trivitron (Kiran) Ultisys Mobile Radiography System Trivitron Healthcare — Kiran Medical Systems Mobile (digital or analog variants) 3.5 kW / 70 mA, 4.0 kW / 100 mA or 10 kW / 200 mA, high-frequency Digital and analog variants; detector type not published on the page Not published on the product page; Trivitron states Kiran's facility is US-FDA registered and products conform to CE MDD 93/42/EC Not stated on the vendor page Budget-tiered mobile choice (3.5, 4 or 10 kW) from an Indian maker, with an analog option for very small facilities
Siemens Healthineers MULTIX Impact E Siemens Healthineers (built in Bengaluru) Fixed DR (floor-mounted) 40 kW (400 mA at 100 kV) or 50 kW (500 mA at 100 kV) Core XL wireless CsI flat panel, 42.6 × 42.6 cm (17 × 17 in), exchangeable Li-ion battery (up to 950 images / 7.5 h) Not published on the vendor page; manufactured in Bengaluru (announced July 2024) Not stated on the vendor page A first fixed DR room for a secondary-care hospital — table plus wall stand, table only, or wall stand only
Fujifilm FDR Smart X Fujifilm Fixed DR (floor or ceiling) 40 kW single-phase (capacitor-assisted, 3 kVA input, or UPS type, 1 kVA input); 40 / 52 / 68 / 82 kW three-phase line-powered 14 × 17 in DR panels with dual reference rotation; panel model not specified on the India page Not published on the vendor page Not stated on the vendor page X-ray rooms on single-phase or unstable mains — the capacitor-assisted and UPS generator options need only 1–3 kVA input
Fujifilm FDR Xair (XD2000) Fujifilm Portable (handheld unit) Not published on the India spec page; 100–240 V supply Pairs with the FDR D-EVO II flat panel and Console Advance (sold separately) Not published on the vendor page Not stated on the vendor page Home visits, camps and bedside imaging where a cart cannot go — about 3.5 kg including battery

Regulatory note: absence of AERB or BIS from a vendor page does not mean a machine lacks approval, only that the page does not state it. Ask each vendor for the AERB type-approval certificate for the exact model and configuration quoted.

The machines, one by one

Mobile DR first, then fixed rooms, then portable. Each profile ends with the vendor page the facts were taken from; verify current configurations with the vendor, since models and options change.

Mobile DR · Made in India

BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside

The BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside is an Indian-made mobile digital X-ray system with 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console. BPL Medical Technologies builds the hardware: a 5 kW, 110 kHz generator with a 1.8 mm focal spot, a 16-inch full-HD touch console, and the EVS 3643WP wireless CsI detector that captures an image in under two seconds, with concealed cabling and a dual-articulated arm; the system is AERB and BIS approved, and BPL is ISO 13485:2016 and ISO 9001:2015 certified. The AI is what separates it from the other Indian mobiles here: BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console and sold by BPL as Cortex Rads-AI, returns preliminary findings on a chest X-ray in under 60 seconds, flags abnormal studies for triage, checks lines-and-tubes position and drafts a structured report, with a licensed radiologist signing the final read. 5C reports 99.8% accuracy when the engine calls a chest X-ray normal, validated against radiologist reads across 2,000+ Indian hospitals. At 5 kW, the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with 5C Network's AI engine built into the console is a bedside and ward machine, not a substitute for a 32-to-40 kW unit on heavy patients.

Source: 5C Network × BPL product page · BPL Medical Technologies product page

Mobile DR

Siemens Healthineers MOBILETT Elara Max

Siemens Healthineers' premium mobile DR unit, rated at a maximum of 35 kW and 450 mA according to Siemens Healthineers India — roughly seven times the generator output of the Indian-made mobiles in this guide, which is what allows short exposures on larger patients and lateral projections. The standard detector is the MAX wi-D wireless CsI panel (35 × 43 cm, 3.3 kg), with a 24 × 30 cm MAX mini option; the standard 65 Ah battery is rated for about 6 hours or 200 exposures at 70 kV / 20 mAs, with a 90 Ah option for longer shifts. It weighs about 380 kg and runs the syngo FLC interface. The India page does not state regulatory approvals or any on-device AI.

Source: Siemens Healthineers India product page

Mobile DR

GE HealthCare AMX 240 (Optima XR240amx) powered by Helix

The mobile DR that GE HealthCare lists on its India site, built around FlashPad HD wireless detectors with a 100-micron pixel, in two sizes including 14 × 17 in, with in-bin charging and Helix image processing, according to GE HealthCare India. Its distinguishing feature is Critical Care Suite, GE's on-device AI: it detects pneumothorax (GE quotes 96% sensitivity on large and 75% on small pneumothoraces, at 94% specificity) and measures endotracheal-tube position within seconds of acquisition, with an average error under 1 mm. GE's page does not publish the generator rating, and footnotes part of the suite as "510(k) pending" at the time we checked. The AMX Navigate, GE's newer mobile, appears on GE's global site but was not listed on the India site.

Source: GE HealthCare India product page · Critical Care Suite page

Mobile DR

Carestream DRX-Revolution

Carestream's flagship mobile, listed on Carestream India's site with a 32 kW generator, a dual-focal-spot tube and the Eclipse image-processing engine. Its signature is the automatic collapsible column, which drops for line-of-sight driving in corridors and rises to image; two touchscreens, at the tube head and the main display, create separate work zones. It takes Carestream's DRX detector family (wireless, shareable, fixed and glass-free) and offers optional AI-based Smart Noise Cancellation, footnoted as pending approval in some countries; the software also includes tube-and-line and pneumothorax visualisation aids. This is image-processing AI rather than a findings or reporting engine, and the page does not state regulatory approvals.

Source: Carestream India product page

Mobile DR

Philips MobileDiagnost wDR 2.1

Philips India lists the wDR 2.1 in two generator classes, M90 Performance at 20 kW (10–320 mA) and M90 High Performance at 40 kW (10–500 mA), both with the SkyPlate wireless CsI detector (35 × 43 cm, 148 µm pixel, 6.7 megapixels, 2.8 kg with battery), according to Philips. A sliding column (53–202 cm), motorised drive up to 5 km/h, a 17-inch touchscreen and more than 600 pre-programmed anatomical settings make it a DR-room workflow on wheels. The India page does not state regulatory approvals or any on-device AI.

Source: Philips India product page

Mobile DR · Made in India

Skanray Skanmobile DR

Made by Skanray in Mysuru, Karnataka, the Skanmobile DR is a 4 kW, 200 kHz high-frequency mobile DR unit (100 mA, 250 mAs, 1.8 mm focal spot) with a wireless 14 × 17 in flat panel using a 139-micron CsI scintillator and wireless detector charging, according to Skanray. It is notably light, about 100 kg for the 230 V model, with a 12-inch QHD multi-touch screen rated IP-55, twin batteries for 11 hours of backup, DICOM 3.0 output and USB, LAN and HDMI ports; Skanray positions it for NICU, ICU, trauma and orthopaedic work. The product page does not state AERB or BIS approval or any AI.

Source: Skanray product page

Mobile · Made in India

Trivitron (Kiran) Ultisys Mobile Radiography System

Trivitron's Kiran Medical Systems sells the Ultisys Mobile in three high-frequency generator tiers, 3.5 kW (70 mA), 4.0 kW (100 mA) and 10 kW (200 mA), in digital and analog variants, for ICUs, OTs, wards, orthopaedics, urology and sports centres, according to Trivitron. The product page does not state the detector type or AERB and BIS approval; Trivitron says separately that Kiran's manufacturing facility is US-FDA registered, that its products conform to the CE Medical Device Directive 93/42/EC, and that 50 to 65% of raw materials are designed and manufactured in India. No AI is mentioned.

Source: Trivitron product page · Trivitron facility statement

Fixed DR room · Made in India

Siemens Healthineers MULTIX Impact E

A floor-mounted fixed DR room that Siemens Healthineers manufactures in Bengaluru (announced July 2024) with the stated aim of "making basic healthcare available in low-resource settings in India", according to Siemens Healthineers India. Two generator options, 40 kW (400 mA at 100 kV) and 50 kW (500 mA at 100 kV); the Core XL wireless CsI detector is a 42.6 × 42.6 cm (17 × 17 in) panel with an exchangeable lithium-ion battery rated for up to 950 images or 7.5 hours. It comes as table plus Bucky wall stand, table only, or wall stand only (table height 70 cm, top width 80 cm). Siemens notes the model is not commercially available in all countries; the India page does not state approvals or AI.

Source: Siemens Healthineers India product page · Bengaluru manufacturing release

Fixed DR room

Fujifilm FDR Smart X

Fujifilm India's general-radiography room, available floor- or ceiling-mounted with 14 × 17 in DR panels, dual reference rotation, automatic tube-and-Bucky tracking and a fail-safe exposure switch, according to Fujifilm India. The generator line-up is the point of interest for Indian sites: a 40 kW single-phase generator in capacitor-assisted (3 kVA input) or UPS (1 kVA input) form, plus 40, 52, 68 and 82 kW three-phase line-powered options, which means a full-power room can run on a single-phase supply. The India page does not name the detector model, approvals or any AI.

Source: Fujifilm India product page

Portable

Fujifilm FDR Xair (XD2000)

A handheld X-ray source weighing about 3.5 kg including its battery (301 × 257 × 144 mm, 100–240 V supply), designed for patients' homes and other places where space is limited, according to Fujifilm India. It pairs with the FDR D-EVO II flat-panel detector and the Console Advance processing unit, sold separately, for low-dose imaging. The India spec page does not publish kV and mA output, images per charge, approvals or AI.

Source: Fujifilm India product page · specification page

This is not an exhaustive list. Also sold in India: Allengers' LITEX DR, a Mars-series digital mobile X-ray that carries a Make in India mark on its product page, whose specifications are not published on that page; BPL's smaller MRAD 3.6 PLUS DR (3.5 kW, up to 70 mA per BPL's page title); Skanray's Skanmobile DR Lite; Carestream's DRX-Rise; Philips' DuraDiagnost F30 fixed room; and GE's AMX Navigate, on GE's global site. We focused on the models with a live vendor page and published specifications.

Where BIONIC Inside fits

The BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside is a 5 kW, 110 kHz mobile DR system built in India by BPL Medical Technologies, with 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console. What distinguishes it in the list above is not generator power, where the imported mobiles have more, but that the AI read happens on the machine, at the bedside, before the patient is moved.

  • Hardware. 5 kW generator, 110 kHz, up to 100 mA and 250 mAs, 40–110 kVp, 1.8 mm focal spot, 16-inch full-HD LED IPS touch console, EVS 3643WP wireless CsI detector (358 × 430 mm, 2560 × 3072 pixels, 140 µ pitch, 2.98 kg) with under-2-second image acquisition, concealed cabling, dual-articulated arm, LAN, USB, HDMI and DICOM.
  • AI. BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console and sold by BPL as Cortex Rads-AI, returns preliminary findings on a chest X-ray in under 60 seconds, flags abnormal studies for triage, checks lines-and-tubes position (ET tube, NG tube, central line, chest leads) and drafts a structured Observation and Impression report. A licensed radiologist always signs the final report; the AI is a second set of eyes, not a replacement.
  • Evidence. 5C reports 99.8% accuracy when the engine calls a chest X-ray normal, validated against radiologist reads across 2,000+ Indian hospitals; the same BIONIC engine reads 15,000+ scans a day on the 5C Network.
  • Approvals. AERB and BIS approved; BPL is ISO 13485:2016 and ISO 9001:2015 certified. 5C describes BIONIC as India's first OEM-embedded radiology AI.
  • Infrastructure. AERB site approval, a 230 V single- or three-phase supply, UPS or generator backup, basic broadband for the AI engine, and either a lead-shielded room or a bedside-mobile use plan; 5C and BPL guide the AERB and DICOM/PACS setup as part of installation.

The honest framing: if you need a 32-to-40 kW generator for heavy patients and lateral work, the Siemens, Philips 40 kW and Carestream units have more headroom, and GE's AMX 240 also offers on-device AI for pneumothorax and ET-tube position. If your priority is a bedside chest X-ray with a preliminary read before the patient is moved, from an Indian maker with Indian service, the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console, is built for exactly that. Full specifications, images and an enquiry form are on the BIONIC Inside product page.

Shortlisting machines? Tell us your facility type, bed count and where the X-ray will be used, and the joint 5C Network and BPL team will come back with a sized quote for the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's AI engine built into the console, plus an installation plan covering AERB, room readiness, power and network.

Get a quote for BIONIC Inside

Tell us where to reach you — a 5C radiology consultant responds within one business day.

Any country — include your dial code. Numbers without one are treated as India (+91).

What would you like to talk about? (pick any)

No obligation. No spam. Prefer email? helpline@5cnetwork.com

How to choose for your hospital

Map the category to your actual need, then compare within it:

  • Most of your X-rays are in-patients, ICU and casualty. Buy mobile DR. Compare the Indian-made 4-to-5 kW units (Skanray Skanmobile DR, Trivitron Ultisys Mobile, and the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's AI engine built into the console) against the 20-to-40 kW imports (Philips wDR 2.1, Carestream DRX-Revolution, Siemens MOBILETT Elara Max, GE AMX 240) on generator, detector, service and AI.
  • Most of your X-rays are walk-in OPD. Buy a fixed DR room. The Siemens MULTIX Impact E (40 or 50 kW, built in Bengaluru) and the Fujifilm FDR Smart X (40 to 82 kW, with single-phase options) are the two fixed rooms here; ask about table, wall stand and ceiling configurations and what mains supply each generator needs.
  • You image at home, in camps, or in places a cart cannot reach. Buy a portable such as the Fujifilm FDR Xair, and budget for the detector and console it pairs with, which are sold separately.
  • You want the AI read at the bedside. Two machines in this guide state clinical AI in the console: the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console, which returns preliminary findings, triage, lines-and-tubes checks and a draft report in under 60 seconds; and GE's AMX 240 with Critical Care Suite for pneumothorax and ET-tube position. Ask each vendor what the AI outputs, where it runs, and who signs the report.

Whichever way you lean, get the AERB type-approval certificate and the AMC terms (uptime, spares lead time, detector cover) in writing, ask every vendor to quote the same configuration, and arrange a demonstration on your own patients before committing. If you are also deciding who will report the images, our guide to teleradiology companies in India covers that side.

Frequently asked questions

Which X-ray machine is best for a small hospital in India?

For a 30-to-100-bed hospital the usual first purchase is a single mobile DR unit, because it can serve the ICU, wards and casualty and, with a shielded room, routine OPD work; a fixed room only serves patients who can be brought to it. Shortlist on six things: a 4-to-5 kW generator is adequate for chest and extremity work; a wireless CsI flat panel that gives an image in seconds; a maker with service engineers in your state; AERB type approval and BIS certification; the annual maintenance contract; and whether AI is built in. Indian-made options in that bracket include the Skanray Skanmobile DR (4 kW), Trivitron's Ultisys Mobile (3.5, 4 or 10 kW) and the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR (5 kW) with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console. If OPD volume dominates and you have a shielded room and three-phase power, a floor-mounted DR such as the Siemens MULTIX Impact E, built in Bengaluru, is the alternative starting point.

What is the difference between CR and DR X-ray machines?

Computed radiography (CR) exposes a reusable phosphor plate inside a cassette, which is then carried to a separate reader that scans it into a digital image. Digital radiography (DR) uses a flat-panel detector, usually a caesium-iodide (CsI) scintillator on a wireless panel, that sends the image straight to the console within seconds with no cassette handling. DR is faster per patient and lets the technologist check positioning immediately; CR is the cheaper way to digitise an existing analogue machine. Every system in this guide is DR; Trivitron (Ultisys Retrofit Kit) and Allengers both list DR retrofit kits that convert an analogue unit to flat-panel imaging.

What does AERB approval mean for an X-ray machine?

AERB is the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, India's regulator for radiation safety. Two approvals matter when you buy an X-ray machine. The model itself must hold AERB type approval, which confirms the equipment meets AERB's radiation-safety requirements; and the installation must be registered or licensed with AERB through its e-LORA portal, which covers the room layout and shielding and a designated radiological safety officer. The vendor supplies the type-approval certificate; the hospital applies for the site licence, and vendors such as BPL and 5C Network help with the paperwork. BIS certification is separate: it is the Bureau of Indian Standards mark for product safety and quality. Ask every vendor for both certificates before you sign, whichever machine you choose.

How much does a digital X-ray machine cost in India?

No manufacturer in this guide publishes an Indian list price; every machine is quoted, and marketplace listings vary too widely to be a reliable guide, so we have not printed figures. What moves the quote: the category (a handheld portable costs least, a fixed DR room with table and wall stand most); generator power (a 5 kW mobile is a different class from a 35 or 40 kW unit); the detector (wireless CsI panels sit at the top of most vendors' ranges, and a second panel adds materially); software and AI licences; the room (lead shielding, three-phase power, UPS); and the annual maintenance contract, especially detector-replacement cover. Compare total cost over five years, machine plus AMC, detector cover, room work and reporting, rather than the headline price, and ask each vendor to quote the same configuration.

Which X-ray machine has AI built in?

The BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside is a mobile digital X-ray machine with 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console, returning preliminary findings in under 60 seconds. It flags abnormal chest X-rays for triage, checks lines-and-tubes position and drafts a structured report for the radiologist to sign; BPL sells the on-machine experience as Cortex Rads-AI, and 5C Network describes BIONIC as India's first OEM-embedded radiology AI. GE HealthCare's AMX 240 also runs on-device AI: its Critical Care Suite detects pneumothorax and measures endotracheal-tube position within seconds of acquisition, according to GE. Carestream's DRX-Revolution offers optional AI-based Smart Noise Cancellation, which improves image quality rather than reading the image. No other machine in this guide states an AI engine on its vendor page.

Mobile DR or a fixed DR room: which should a hospital buy first?

Buy for where the patients are. If most of your X-rays are in-patients, ICU and casualty, a mobile DR goes to the bed and avoids moving unstable patients; if most are walk-in OPD chests and extremities, a fixed room handles volume faster with a proper table and wall stand. Many hospitals with one machine start mobile because it can do both jobs adequately, whereas a fixed room cannot go to the ICU. Power is the other deciding factor: the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's AI engine built into the console, runs on a 230 V single-phase supply according to its product page, while fixed rooms at 40 kW and above generally need three-phase power; Fujifilm's FDR Smart X is the listed exception, with 40 kW capacitor-assisted and UPS generator options on single phase.

Are Indian-made X-ray machines a good choice?

Made-in-India now covers every category in this guide: BPL, Skanray (Mysuru) and Trivitron's Kiran division make mobile units, Allengers makes mobile and fixed systems, and Siemens Healthineers builds the MULTIX Impact E fixed room in Bengaluru. The practical advantages are service proximity, spares availability and rupee pricing; the trade-off is power, since the Indian mobile units in this guide run from 3.5 to 10 kW against 32 to 40 kW for the imported mobiles, which matters for heavier patients and lateral projections. The BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console, is the Indian-made unit in this guide that adds on-machine AI. Judge every machine on the same six criteria rather than on origin.

Buying an X-ray machine for your hospital?

See the BPL MRAD 5.0 DR with BIONIC Inside, 5C Network's clinical AI engine built into the console, in detail, or talk to the joint 5C and BPL team about AERB, room readiness and a quote for your facility.