The four ways PACS is priced in India
Every PACS quote you receive will be one of these four structures, or a hybrid of two. Knowing which one you are looking at is the first step to comparing them.
- Per-study cloud fee. You pay a rupee amount per report or per patient, sometimes with a monthly minimum, and storage beyond a short window is billed separately. Gratirad prices this way, from Rs 7 per X-ray and Rs 20 per CT or MRI report with 10 days of storage included. Cost tracks volume exactly; the storage line is the one to watch.
- Monthly or annual cloud subscription. A flat fee sized by number of centres, radiologists and included cases, with an overage rate above the plan. Nandico's ladder runs Rs 900 to Rs 18,000 a month, and CrelioHealth's USD 50 monthly minimum plus per-study storage sits between this model and the first. Predictable, and cheap at the bottom; check what happens to the bill when you outgrow a tier.
- On-premise licence plus AMC. A one-time licence and hardware purchase, then an annual maintenance contract expressed as a percentage of the licence value, escalating yearly. This is how Medsynapse, RADSpa, SoftLink, GE, Philips and Fujifilm are typically bought in India, and none of them publishes the licence or the percentage. Capital-heavy up front; the marginal study is nearly free thereafter.
- Open source plus support. Orthanc's licence costs nothing. You pay for the server, the storage, a viewer, backups, hardening, integration and support hours, and you carry the operational risk. Orthanc Team sells pre-paid support hours and does not publish the rate.
If you are still deciding which of the vendors below belongs on your shortlist, start with the comparison of PACS software sold in India; for what a PACS is and how the deployment models differ globally, see the PACS for hospitals buyer's guide.
Published PACS prices in India (2026)
Every figure below is taken from the vendor's own pricing or product page as of 22 September 2026. "Quote only" means the vendor publishes no price; nothing on this page is estimated. Vendors change plans without notice, so verify before you sign.
| Vendor | Pricing model | Published price | What it includes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nandico Telereporting PACS Nandico Healthcare Solutions | Monthly or annual cloud subscription, by centres and case volume | Rs 900 a month (Lite) to Rs 18,000 a month (Enterprise); Rs 9,600 to Rs 1,80,000 a year. Extra cases Rs 5 to Rs 9 each. | 1 centre, 1 radiologist and 100 cases a month at the bottom; 20+ centres, unlimited radiologists and 3,000 cases at the top. 1 month of cloud storage; zero installation. Extended storage Rs 1 to Rs 5 a case by retention period. | Nandico pricing page |
| Gratirad Cloud PACS Gratirad | Per-report cloud fee, with commitment tiers | Starter: Rs 7 per X-ray and Rs 20 per CT or MRI report (ex-GST), no commitment. Commitment: Rs 5 and Rs 10 with a Rs 10,000 monthly minimum. Enterprise: Rs 3 and Rs 6 per patient, Rs 1 lakh setup, Rs 50,000 monthly minimum. | Zero-footprint viewer, unlimited radiologists, 10 days of image storage. Extended storage Rs 1 per study per six months. | Gratirad pricing page |
| CrelioHealth PACS CrelioHealth | Usage-based cloud: monthly minimum plus storage priced per study | USD 50 a month minimum, plus USD 0.02 per CT study, USD 0.04 per MRI, USD 0.01 per X-ray or ultrasound, at average post-compression sizes. 10% off on annual billing. | OHIF-based cloud viewer; integrates with CrelioHealth's RIS or any DICOM RIS. Whether storage recurs monthly for retained studies is not stated; ask. | CrelioHealth PACS pricing page |
| RadpicsAI MedPACS RadpicsAI | PACS quote only; viewer sold as a monthly subscription | MedPACS: quote only. RadpicsAI's subscription site lists KAPREN viewer plans at Rs 1,999 a month (1 user) and Rs 4,999 a month (3 users), taxes extra; Enterprise is custom. | Viewer plans cover desktop viewing with unlimited studies; the archive, MedCARE RIS and AI Co-Pilot are quoted separately. | RadpicsAI subscription page |
| Orthanc Open source (UCLouvain / Orthanc Team) | Free licence plus paid support and your own hosting | Licence: free (GPLv3+; scalability and cloud plugins AGPLv3+). Support: pre-paid hours from Orthanc Team, valid 12 months, price not published. | The DICOM server only. Hosting, storage, viewer, backups, hardening and on-call support are separate costs you carry. | Orthanc licensing FAQ |
| Medsynapse RIS-PACS Medsynaptic, Pune | On-premise, cloud or hybrid | Quote only | Integrated RIS-PACS-VNA; pricing by quotation. | Medsynaptic RIS-PACS page |
| RADSpa Telerad Tech, Bengaluru | Cloud SaaS, hybrid, or on-premise in Mini, Midi and Enterprise tiers | Quote only | Integrated RIS-PACS; tier sizes published, prices not. | RADSpa product page |
| Imagine PACS / IDS SoftLink International, Pune | On-premise, public cloud, or pay-per-use hosted by SoftLink | Quote only | A pay-per-use model is offered; the rate is not published. | SoftLink PACS page |
| Edison True PACS GE HealthCare (India page) | Enterprise licence; cloud-enabled, SaaS not in all regions | Quote only | Universal Viewer, Enterprise Archive, AI Orchestrator; no RIS. | GE HealthCare India PACS page |
| HealthSuite Imaging (Vue PACS) Philips (India page) | Managed cloud service on AWS, or hybrid | Quote only | Managed-service contract with 99.99% uptime guarantee; RIS sold separately. | Philips India HealthSuite Imaging page |
| Synapse PACS Fujifilm (India page) | Web-based enterprise PACS; hosting model not stated | Quote only | Synapse VNA and Synapse RIS sold as separate modules. | Fujifilm India Synapse PACS page |
| 5C SuperPACS 5C Network, Bengaluru (our product) | Integrated PACS + Bionic AI + Prodigi RIS + radiologist reporting network | Quote only; quoted against your volumes | Archive, AI engine, RIS and reporting network as one system. See the product page for what is published and what to ask. | 5C SuperPACS product page |
Indian prices are quoted ex-GST where the vendor says so; CrelioHealth publishes in US dollars. Nandico and Gratirad figures are according to their pricing pages; CrelioHealth's page notes that actual costs may vary from its average study sizes.
What moves the price
- Studies per month. The primary driver in every model. Subscription tiers are sized by included cases (Nandico: 100 to 3,000 a month), per-study plans bill each report, and on-premise quotes are sized on annual volume. Overage rates matter as much as the plan price.
- Storage and retention years. The line that surprises buyers. Published cloud plans include days or a month of storage; keeping five years of priors is billed on top, per case and per period (Nandico Rs 1 to Rs 5 a case; Gratirad Rs 1 per study per six months). CT and MRI studies are larger, which is why CrelioHealth prices them at two to four times an X-ray.
- Modalities and sites. More scanners mean more DICOM nodes to configure and more concurrent load; more sites mean higher subscription tiers (Nandico prices by centre count) and, on-premise, more hardware or a central archive with edge caches.
- Whether a RIS is included. Medsynapse, RADSpa and CrelioHealth bundle a RIS; Fujifilm and Philips sell it as a module; GE, Nandico and Gratirad expect you to have one. A PACS-only price and a RIS-PACS price are different products.
- AI. Built-in models, an orchestrator that routes to third-party algorithms, or nothing. Where AI is a separate licence or a per-study surcharge, it is a second budget line; where it is inside the system, ask how it is priced within the quote.
- Migration. The size of the legacy archive, the export terms of the vendor you are leaving, and the interfaces to rebuild. No vendor publishes a migration fee; every quote for a replacement PACS should carry one explicitly, even if it says zero.
- SLA and support. Uptime guarantees (Philips publishes 99.99% on its managed service), support hours, response times and whether a named engineer exists in your city. Enterprise-grade SLAs are priced in, and cheaper plans usually do not have one.
Five-year total cost: a worked example
The only fair comparison across the four models is total cost over the life of the contract. Below is the arithmetic for one illustrative centre, using published figures only. Assumptions, stated plainly: 3,000 studies a month (2,000 X-ray, 600 CT, 400 MRI), which is 36,000 a year and 1,80,000 over five years; every study retained for the five-year window; prices as published on 22 September 2026, ex-GST; no growth in volume. Your numbers will differ, and the point is the method, not the total.
| Option (published plan) | Plan or usage fees, 5 years | Extended storage, 5 years | Five-year total | Per study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nandico Enterprise, annual | Rs 1,80,000 × 5 = Rs 9,00,000 (3,000 cases a month included; no overage) | 1,80,000 cases × Rs 1 to Rs 5 = Rs 1,80,000 to Rs 9,00,000 | Rs 10.8 lakh to Rs 18 lakh | Rs 6 to Rs 10 |
| Gratirad Commitment | (2,000 × Rs 5) + (1,000 × Rs 10) = Rs 20,000 a month, above the Rs 10,000 minimum; × 60 = Rs 12,00,000 | Rs 1 per study per six months; an average study spends about 2.5 years in the window, so about 5 periods × Rs 1 × 1,80,000 = about Rs 9,00,000 | About Rs 21 lakh | About Rs 11.70 |
| CrelioHealth | (2,000 × USD 0.01) + (600 × USD 0.02) + (400 × USD 0.04) = USD 48 a month, so the USD 50 minimum applies; × 60 = USD 3,000 (USD 2,700 on annual billing) | Not stated whether the per-study charge recurs for retained studies; ask before modelling | USD 2,700 to 3,000 as a floor; more if storage recurs | From about USD 0.02 |
| Orthanc, self-hosted | Licence Rs 0 | Your own compute, storage, backups, viewer, hardening and support hours; Orthanc Team's rate is not published | Whatever your IT budget says | Depends entirely on your operations cost |
| On-premise licence + AMC | Licence + hardware + (AMC % × licence, escalated, × 5). No vendor publishes any of the three inputs | Storage array sized for 1,80,000 studies, plus refresh | Quote only | Quote only |
Three lessons fall out of the arithmetic. First, storage can equal or exceed the software: on Nandico's plan the five-year storage line ranges from a fifth of the subscription to matching it, depending on where in the Rs 1 to Rs 5 band your retention lands. Second, minimums decide which tier is right: Gratirad's Enterprise plan looks cheapest per report at Rs 3 and Rs 6, but at this volume it generates Rs 12,000 of usage against a Rs 50,000 monthly floor plus a Rs 1 lakh setup fee, which makes it the most expensive option for this centre and the right one only at far higher volumes. Third, usage-priced plans need one question answered before they can be modelled at all: does the per-study charge recur for as long as the study is stored?
Run the same table on every quote you receive, including the ones that arrive as a licence and an AMC percentage. If a vendor cannot fill in its column for your volume and retention, that is information too.
Hidden costs to check
The headline price is not the contract. Six places where PACS quotes quietly grow:
- Migration fees, charged by the new vendor to ingest your archive, and sometimes by the old vendor to export it per study. Get both in writing before signing either contract.
- Storage overage: retention beyond the included window (10 days to a month on the published cloud plans), studies above the plan's case count, and larger-than-average CT and MRI sizes on plans priced by megabyte.
- Viewer and workstation licences: per-seat or per-concurrent-user charges for diagnostic viewers, 3D and MPR modules, and mobile access. Cloud plans that say "unlimited radiologists" are the exception, not the norm.
- Integration charges: HL7 interfaces to the HIS, RIS or LIS, modality worklist configuration, and each new scanner added later. Ask for a per-interface rate card.
- AMC escalation: the annual percentage rises each year on most on-premise contracts. A cap, or a fixed schedule for the full term, belongs in the agreement.
- Exit and data-export fees: the cost of getting your own studies back in DICOM format, in bulk, when you leave. Negotiate this on the way in; the vendor you are leaving controls the timeline otherwise.
How 5C prices SuperPACS
Honestly: 5C Network does not publish a price for SuperPACS, and this page will not invent one. Commercial terms are quoted against your volumes, per facility, and there is no list price, no published tier and no published discount. The SuperPACS product page lists item by item what 5C publishes today and what to ask us.
The reason the quote does not map onto the four models above is that the cost base is different in kind. SuperPACS is built on the production infrastructure that already reads 15,000+ studies a day for 2,000+ facilities, so the archive, the Bionic AI engine, the Prodigi RIS and a 400+ radiologist reporting network are one system. A hospital comparing it with a conventional PACS should compare it against the PACS quote plus the AI licence plus the reporting contract, because those are the three lines it replaces.
What to bring when you ask: your monthly modality mix and study volumes, the number of sites, your retention policy, the RIS and HIS interfaces you run today, any data-residency or local-cache requirement, and whether a PACS decision is in your next planning cycle or the archive you have is fine and only the reporting is slow.
If it is the latter, you do not need a PACS quote at all. 5C's reporting is priced pay-per-scan, with no minimum volume, no licence fees and no onboarding cost; rates are quoted against your actual monthly modality mix and SLA needs, the first 10 cases are free, and 5C connects to any existing DICOM PACS in about 72 hours. The teleradiology pricing guide covers that model in full, or contact us with your configuration.
Frequently asked questions
How much does PACS software cost in India?
Most PACS vendors in India quote rather than publish, but as of September 2026 three publish prices, which gives real anchors. Nandico's cloud PACS runs from Rs 900 a month (one centre, one radiologist, 100 cases) to Rs 18,000 a month (20+ centres, unlimited radiologists, 3,000 cases), or Rs 9,600 to Rs 1,80,000 a year, with one month of storage included and extended storage at Rs 1 to Rs 5 a case. Gratirad charges per report: Rs 7 per X-ray and Rs 20 per CT or MRI (ex-GST) with no commitment, Rs 5 and Rs 10 with a Rs 10,000 monthly minimum, or Rs 3 and Rs 6 per patient on an enterprise plan with a Rs 1 lakh setup fee and a Rs 50,000 monthly minimum. CrelioHealth lists a USD 50 monthly minimum plus USD 0.01 to 0.04 per study for storage. Orthanc's licence is free. Medsynapse, RADSpa, SoftLink, RadpicsAI MedPACS, GE HealthCare, Philips, Fujifilm and 5C SuperPACS quote per site, and no vendor we checked publishes an on-premise licence or AMC figure. Compare five-year cost per study, not the year-one price.
Is cloud PACS cheaper than on-premise?
At low and mid volumes, and for anything multi-site, usually yes: cloud converts a licence, servers, storage arrays and an annual maintenance contract into a subscription or a per-study fee, and the published Indian cloud plans start under Rs 1,000 a month. On-premise recovers ground at high single-site volume with long retention, because once the licence and hardware are paid for, the marginal cost of one more study is close to zero, whereas cloud storage charges keep accruing for every study retained. No Indian vendor publishes on-premise licence or AMC figures, so the comparison has to be run on quotes. Model five years, not one, and include storage growth, AMC escalation, hardware refresh and the IT time an on-premise archive consumes.
What is a typical PACS AMC?
An annual maintenance contract is the recurring fee on an on-premise PACS licence, usually expressed as a percentage of the licence value and payable every year after the warranty period. None of the vendors checked for this guide publishes the percentage, so ask for it in writing along with five things: exactly what it covers (patches only, or version upgrades too), the support hours and response SLA, the annual escalation clause and any cap, whether hardware, operating-system and database licences are inside or outside the contract, and what happens to the software if you do not renew. Multiplied over five years and escalated, the AMC is often the largest line after the licence itself.
Is Orthanc really free?
The software is. Orthanc's core is released under GPLv3+, its scalability and cloud plugins under AGPLv3+, and dual or commercial licensing is no longer offered, so there is no licence fee at any scale. What you pay for is everything around it: a server or cloud instance, storage that grows with retention, a viewer (OHIF is also free), backups, security hardening, integration with your modalities and HIS, and someone to answer when it stops at 2 a.m. Orthanc Team sells pre-paid support hours valid for 12 months and does not publish the price. There is no RIS. For a technically staffed hospital it is the lowest-licence-cost archive in existence; for one without IT staff, the free licence is the smallest line in the budget.
What does a per-study PACS fee usually include?
Judging by the published Indian plans, the fee covers the cloud archive and a zero-footprint viewer for a defined storage window, and not much else. Nandico's plans include one month of cloud storage and zero installation, with extra cases billed at Rs 5 to Rs 9 each and longer retention at Rs 1 to Rs 5 a case; Gratirad's include unlimited radiologists and 10 days of storage, with extended storage at Rs 1 per study per six months, and prices are ex-GST. Typically not included: a RIS, AI, migration of your existing archive, HIS or HL7 integration work, and retention beyond the window. Before comparing two per-study rates, line up the storage window, the overage rate, GST treatment and the integration scope; the headline rupee figure is the smallest part of the difference.
How much does PACS migration cost?
No vendor in this guide publishes a migration price, and any figure printed here would be a guess. What is knowable is what drives it: the size of your existing archive and how many years of priors you migrate, whether your current vendor's contract permits bulk DICOM export without per-study fees, the number of modalities to re-point, the HIS and RIS interfaces to rebuild, and how much retraining the new viewer needs. Two things are cheaper and should not be confused with migration: switching on a cloud PACS for a new centre with no legacy archive, which Nandico and Gratirad sell with zero installation charge, and connecting an existing PACS to an outside reporting service, which 5C Network does over standard DICOM in about 72 hours with no hardware. For 5C SuperPACS, migration scope is quoted per site.
How is 5C SuperPACS priced?
5C Network does not publish a list price for SuperPACS; commercial terms are quoted against your volumes, and this page will not invent a figure. Bring your monthly modality mix, study volumes, number of sites, retention policy, RIS and HIS interfaces and any data-residency requirement, and the quote comes back for that configuration. The cost base differs from a conventional PACS because the archive, the Bionic AI engine, the Prodigi RIS and the 400+ radiologist reporting network are one system, so you are not pricing PACS, AI and reporting from three vendors. If only the reporting is the problem today, 5C's reporting is priced pay-per-scan with no minimum volume, no licence fees and no onboarding cost, connects to any DICOM PACS in about 72 hours, and the first 10 cases are free.
The prices above are the vendors' published prices; the SuperPACS quote depends on your configuration. Share your modality mix, monthly volumes, sites and retention policy and we will come back with commercial terms for 5C SuperPACS, or with a pay-per-scan rate card if the PACS you have is fine and the reporting is the problem. The reply comes to your inbox; the conversation stays on this page.
Get SuperPACS commercial terms for your configuration
Tell us where to reach you — a 5C radiology consultant responds within one business day.
Want the product first? Read about 5C SuperPACS